Wednesday, October 22, 2025-A controversial moment during the Suns’ matchup this week sparked confusion among fans after Kevin Durant appeared to call a timeout his team didn’t have without being assessed a technical foul.
The incident, which came late in the fourth quarter, drew immediate comparisons to the infamous 1993 NCAA Championship play when Chris Webber was penalized for the same mistake. Viewers quickly flooded social media wondering why Durant wasn’t whistled under the same rule.
According to the NBA’s official rulebook, a technical foul is only assessed if officials acknowledge and grant a timeout that a team does not have. In this case, referees confirmed after review that Durant’s signal for a timeout was never formally recognized meaning play continued uninterrupted.
Since no timeout was awarded, no infraction technically occurred. The referees’ crew chief later explained that “intent alone does not trigger a technical unless the timeout is granted.”
The moment highlights how subtle judgment calls can dramatically shift momentum in close games. Had the officials granted the timeout, Phoenix could have faced a costly penalty and possession loss. Instead, the non-call preserved the flow of play and avoided a repeat of a rulebook disaster.
While fans debated fairness on social media, league officials stood by the decision, saying it was consistent with precedent. For Durant and the Suns, it was a close call literally.

0 Comments